The projects never end, do they?


I began this past week with some tree removal.  I had two Photinias removed and one Yaupon that was misshapen, and a big limb off an oak tree that was hanging over the utility lines. This opened up some space to put in more attractive and healthier trees and shrubs, as well as some perennials.

At the end of the week, on friday and saturday I spent 20 hours on those two days completing some incomplete projects and getting ready for fall planting season.I had hired help to dig and do the muscle work, thank goodness.

  • I planted a large Loquat tree (I’m so thrilled with it)

    Loquat Tree

  • Moved about 30 Lariope plants from the dirt area below in the lawn, to create a new bed that will be perfect for daylillies (suggestions for good ones in Austin, anyone?)
  • Gathered up limestone scattered throughout the yard and made a “mowing edge” and defined the bed in front of the Lariope, and weeded that new bed area.
  • I moved a Bicolor Iris that was planted incorrectly
  • Planted 4 Tangerine Beauty Crossvines at the new latticework
  • Glued PVC pipe together that was leaking on the pond filter (oops, update, that one needs more work)
  • Removed some deck boards and hid the pond pump electrical line under it
  • Flattened a corner of the yard to create an area for the Succulent Garden and mulched it
  • Purchased new succulents and potted all of them; this one is an Aloe that is beige with white spots! And a fuzzy Aeonium.

    Aloe and Aeonium

  • This is a Echeveria that grows on branches (I think. Help me if I’m wrong)

This is a Sempervivum (again, I think. Naming succulents is Hard since even the sellers don’t know the names when you buy it)

  • Planted a large Sword Fern by the waterfall (gorgeous- pics later)
  • Added four more 4×8 lattice to finish creating my privacy fence (need more vines)
  • Hand fertilized both front and back Gardens with Seaweed
  • Weeded the front bed
  • Repotted several other plants that were not happy with their current containers
  • Drilled a large hole in the bottom of a new ceramic pitcher that I’m turning into a flower pot (I’m so proud of myself!)
  • Planted a Queen’s Tears that was a giveaway from a talk at Zilker Gardens I attended
  • Sweated bullets the entire time!

Flash the Wonder Cat

By this time, even my supervisor was all worn out!

I’ve got about two more days worth of work left on hardscape stuff, but it will be a few weeks before I can get to that. Then all that’s left (hah!) is to plant things in the new beds once I figure out the vision for each area.

Oh wait, did I say that’s all that’s left? I meant in the BACK Garden…I want a new sun bed in the Front Yard next…

7 thoughts on “The projects never end, do they?

  1. Boy! You did a lot of work. How did you manage with all the heat? I just can not go out and work with the high temperatures. I have many things to do, but they will have to wait for a break in the weather. Your garden is looking very nice.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  2. Jan, Thanks for the compliments. I can only manage the heat for so long, then I have to come inside and gulp more water and cool off. It’s outrageously hot this year, so much moreso than normal. And I have a lot of shade trees to keep off the direct sun. But I sure don’t like it any more than you do! By the way, I’ve put in a new evergreen wisteria; I loved seeing the images on your blog of the flowers. Hopefully I’ll have some later this year. Robin

  3. Came across this entry as I was hunting succulent information of my own. Didn’t find what I was looking for here, but thought I’d share something I *did* know. The “echevaria growing on branches” shown above is actually graptopetalum paraguayense, part of a small genus of succulents native to Mexico. And the sempervivum pictures looks a lot like an aeonium, though, as you say, it’s hard to know for sure.

  4. Nathan, thanks for the helpful ID. I’m obviously pretty clueless with succulents, though I really enjoy them. Thanks for visiting!

  5. Hah, I just did a search for “loquat tree” just to lazily picture what one will look like in the corner of my yard where I am presently dreaming of planting one and getting rid of the photinias…how funny to find you have an identical corner!

  6. We must have similarly “aged” homes, Marie. Those photinias were such a builder’s signature tree through the seventies and eighties. And the loquat is just so much more interesting, isn’t it? Go for it!

Let me know you dropped in!

