Mystery Vine?


I need your help with a plant identification, please.

When I moved into this home, it was very overgrown with foliage. The original owners in the 80’s were apparently avid gardeners, as there was much greenery, and old overgrown beds, and a large pond. After they departed, however, future owners hadn’t taken care of it, and while it was lush, it was also quite a mess.

In my efforts to redo the landscaping this year, I ended up taking out a vine that has been here for decades, apparently. It had grown up into a lagustrum, and I never saw it do much except put out a few leaves in the summer. Once we took it out, I discovered that WAYYYY up in the lagustrum, the tips of the vine had some beautiful yellow flowers! Had I known this, I would have trimmed it back and retrained it to be out of the way, but alas that isn’t what happened.

Anyway, that picture is the tip of the vine, with leaves and flowers, after I cut it off. It is a decicuous vine, and the vine itself is very thick and ropy, without branching much.

Can you help me identify it? I’ve found nothing in all of my books. I did keep a few clipped ends; can anyone suggest how I might go about rooting them, if it is possible?

Oh, add this one to the mistake book! Yet one more.

4 thoughts on “Mystery Vine?

  1. Hi, Robin. That’s butterfly vine, also called gallinita (Mascagnia macroptera). It’s actually an evergreen vine, but perhaps the lower portion lost its leaves through overshading. I’m no expert on rooting, so I leave that advice to others. But if you ever replant, just give it lots of sun, and it’ll be a trouble-free, evergreen, yellow-blooming vine. Oh, and the name butterfly vine comes from the pretty, brown seedheads that form in late summer. They look like butterflies.

    Pam, thanks! Do you remember that you saw this vine – the old part with sparse leaves that was unidentifiable – at the time you thought it might be Rattan Vine. I’m happy to have the ID. Perhaps when I get a place for a sunny vine, I’ll do it again. Do you think it would do ok with just morning sun? Robin

  2. The less sun, the fewer the blooms is usually the way it goes. But it would be worth a try. It’s a lovely vine. And yes, I do remember those ropy vines but not the flowers. Too bad we didn’t see them then, right?

  3. Ah well, the pretty little flowers were up so high in the lagustrum – they must have been climbing up to the sun – that no one saw them until it all came down. It obviously wasn’t in a place that suited it any longer, but it does make me want to plant one elsewhere.

  4. I’m in Sunbury Ga (Midway) close to Savannah and have this vine have had it for several years,evergreen,beautiful folage,beautiful flowers midsummer to late fall with very interesting seed pods.planted on a black privacy fence absolutely beautiful.

Let me know you dropped in!

