Flowering Senna finally does


Last spring, when I undertook this Year of Remodeling in the yard, I planted a lovely Flowering Senna in the front bed. I love the shape of the leaves, and this is a great butterfly attracting tree. It also fits in nicely with my purple and yellow color scheme in the front of the house.

Truthfully, in the record-breaking heat and drought this year, I just wanted it to survive to bloom another day. However, this hardy plant fooled me and showed up anyway! She just started to flower this week, and look at those buds showing me what’s to come!



After a nice feeding, my sweet little Ivy Geranium decided to play along (notice again the purple coloring; this shade shows up a LOT in my yard).


And, I’m really happy about this one. At the same time I planted the Senna, I also planted a Rose of Sharon, aka Althea. I love these shrubs and have been jonesin’ for one for several years. I decided to test out a new bed in the back yard – I didn’t know if she would get enough sun or not. And this is another shrub that I babied through her first year in this Summer of Hell ’08. She’s covered in buds for the second time this year, and here’s her first flower of the late summer. I guess the one day of overcast skies that I had last week convinced her life was worth living after all. However, this bloom is so interesting. It looks like a double bloom, though her Spring flowers were singles. As she matures, it will be fun to watch to see what kind of blooms she decides upon.

Here’s a couple of shots:

And another angle:

Just to compare, here’s the pic I took in May with her first blooms:

I think these flowers are gorgeous! Here’s hoping she stays happy in her spot that is once again covered inches deep in fresh organic Revitalizer compost and mulch after yesterday’s hard work.

8 thoughts on “Flowering Senna finally does

  1. I love the Senna. I am always looking for yellow flowering plants for my circle garden. Your Rose of Sharon is also lovely.

    Jan
    Always Growing

    Thanks, Jan. I do love yellow in a garden! This plant is quite lovely; though I didn’t picture the whole thing, right now it is about 5 1/2 feet tall and growing, in partial sun. I plan to trim it more tree-like so the plants behind it can still get some sun. Give it a try!
    Robin

  2. Your Rose of Sharon is beautiful — from all angles! My senna is sad this year — not sure how long they last, but mine may need replacing next year. Yours looks all fresh and perky!

    Diana, as mine is new just this year, I have no idea how long they last. I’m thrilled at the amount of buds I’m seeing; I think it is happy in its location. And thanks for the kudos on the Rose of Sharon – I’m very excited that she has decided to give me a second bloom season here in her first year. I’m sorry your Senna seems to be giving it up. Robin

  3. You’re part of a big club with the purple and yellow color scheme, Robin – and luckily are finding plants that are in your colors but still thrive in Austin. I don’t have senna but have watched the progress of a friend’s tree from 2-foot plant to 10-foot tree in 3 seasons. The shape of the small flowers is delightful.

    My Rose of Sharon is a passalong – hope she also decides “life is worth living” – that made me laugh!

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

    I’m so glad I was able to add a chuckle to your day, Annie. That makes life worth living for all of us! I’ve discovered that I really don’t like red in the yard, and I have very little pink. I guess I’m definitely a member of the purple and yellow club! Robin

  4. Hi Robin! I don’t have a senna but want one now after seeing the pictures! I love Rose of Sharon and so do the hummingbirds and butterflies! Good luck with it all! (and tell Flash he is a handsome kitty!)
    Karla

    Karla, I thank you and Flash thanks you! Yes, I’m pleased with the Senna as well, I hope it can keep it up in this heat. Robin

  5. The conditions must have been just perfect for the senna. We arrived home to find ours in full flower. Quite spectacular. Every year I pull out a seedling and pot it up as this is not a long lived tree and there is always the possibility of losing it in a harsh winter. It seeds very easily.

    Jenny, When you say long-lived, what does that mean? A year or two? More? I’m enjoying it while it’s here, certainly. Mine is continuing to flower even more. Robin

  6. I am webmaster for the Hill Country Master Gardeners in Kerr, Gillespie, & Banera,Texas counties. I am creating a page for our website that will list all plants in our demonstration garden along with characteristics/requirements and a photo. I would like to use your photo if I may have your permission. I will, of course, credit you for the photo. If you would please, answer to cbrink@ktc.com. You may check out our site at http://www.hillcountrymastergardeners.org. Thanks for your consideration! Carol

    Wow, Carol, what an honor! Thank you and yes, you have my permission. I’ll email separately to you.
    Robin

  7. Thanks so much for permission to use your photo and for the referral to Pam at Digging. Your photo of the Flowering Senna will be up on our website shortly — just have a few more photos to find and our demo garden will be complete. All your guests are invited to check out our website – Hill Country Master Gardeners is a great group of people and master gardeners!

    Carol, you are so welcome! I can’t wait to see the end result website…give me the link and I”ll put it on my site.

Let me know you dropped in!

