Daylily purchase comparisons


I spent countless hours this past summer (reading indoors and avoiding the heat outside) learning about Daylilies. I really enjoy the look of these flowers, and felt like there just had to be more than what was available at local nurseries. I checked books out of the library, I talked to the head of our local Daylily Society, I googled endlessly. Making my purchases was the most difficult decision, as there are more than I ever imagined available online.

There are endless beautiful choices out there, and of course, I wanted them all. With restraint, I kept myself to a minimum of plants this year. I definitely chose those on the lowest end of the budget scale, so that I might continue my education and discover just which ones really will grow here. I stuck to Evergreen varieties for hardiness, as was suggested to me by everyone.

I placed 3 separate orders, with 3 different companies. (I learned about two of these companies through my research and conversing with other growers in the area).

Before I knew better, though, I placed an order because of a big “SALE!” ad on one site, Spring Hill Nursery. I’m such a sucker!  Here’s the picture of the so-called daylily they sent me:

Can you even see it? It’s that dead, shrubby, brown thing in the middle of the dirt. Yes, seriously, that’s what I bought when I made a purchase through their website! It looked like that immediately upon removal from the box, I didn’t let it sit around and die, promise. I actually couldn’t tell the bottom from the top, as the roots were floppy and withered and dead-looking as well. I seriously doubt if it will grow (there are 3 of them!), but I stuck the poor thing in the dirt anyway, and bid it “good luck”.

Then a couple of weeks later, I received my shipment of daylilies from Shaw’s Sunshine Gardens. Look at these:

Now, that’s more like it! Can you BELIEVE the difference???? I had never ordered plants before online, so I was shocked at the difference, even though priced the SAME! And Shaw’s wasn’t the only one that sent beautiful plants like these, I got similar healthy and large plants from “Aren’t I pretty, Daylilies” nursery online. And both of these places sent me “bonus” plants, several from each.

So, here’s my lesson learned…NEVER order from Spring Hill Nursery!!!! What a sham they are! Enuf said…

I can’t wait for these babies to bloom, hopefully next spring. I have an entire bed now of daylilies, with some perennials tossed in for visual breaks. I added Yarrow to the bed, as one of the many things I read said that Yarrow attracts the kind of insects that will eat the insects that attack daylilies, making them a good companion plant. We’ll see…

On another note, I want to show off this lemon grown by Diana, at Sharing Nature’s Garden. Look at that beautiful fruit! And yes, the flesh is pink. She has a huge  lemon tree growing in her back yard, in the dirt, right here in Austin Texas! She says she inherited the tree, so it is now several years old. When I saw it, I was amazed as it is covered in healthy, full and juicy lemons. I have nowhere near enough sun to even attempt planting one, so many thanks, Diana, for sharing the harvest. It was absolutely as delicious as it looks.

By the way, the name of this tree is Citrus limon Variegated ‘Pink Lemonade’, hence the interesting two-tone peel. Makes your mouth water just looking at it, doesn’ t it?

And just so I don’t miss out, here’s my cat picture for  LAPCPADPOOB ( ‘‘Lets all post cat photos and dire poetry on our blogs’). Though I have to admit, my picture is a day late and a poem short.

Flash the Wonder Cat

Flash the Wonder Cat

7 thoughts on “Daylily purchase comparisons

  1. What a treat – a great post on daylilies, which I, too, am a novice at. I’ve ordered from Spring Hill with good luck, though, I could see how you wouldn’t go back to them after what you got. I got beautiful irises from them last week in great shape. Go figure! I want to come see you lilies when they come up so we can compare notes. Mine came from Olallie Daylily Gardens at daylilygardens.com But my colors weren’t true tot he catalog. I’m hoping for a better year 2! And what a treat to see my lemon on your post! Glad you liked it. The peels are so fragrant and oily – I keep thinking I need to find something that needs a lot of lemon zest – they’d be great for zesting!

    Wow, interesting to know about Spring Hill. Where did you plant your daylilies? Do you remember the names of the cultivars? Perhaps I should post mine, to see if anyone else has had good luck with them. I’m thinking that a lemon pie would be most wonderful with that great pink color and oily peel! And that just happens to be my favorite pie…Robin

  2. Yes, Robin – please do post which daylilies you bought! Except for the small yellow rebloomer ‘Happy Returns’, which was bought at a local nursery, my handful of daylilies were carried from Chicagoland nine years ago and none of them are evergreens. I used to order from Gilbert Wild when I lived in Illinois – you and Diana have given me new places to check out.

    The pink lemonade lemon is beautiful! Last year I used a couple of our Meyer’s lemons to make Lemon Sable Cookies – found the recipe online.

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

    Annie, shall I wait until I find out which ones flourish to let you know? Or would you like to have names now? Some of the ones I really wanted to order were out of stock already, so my list isn’t as complete as I would want eventually. And Diana has enough lemons to make several pies and pitchers of lemonade and lemon bars and leftover for the ice tea! I was so impressed with her lemon tree! I eat so much lemon, I would adore having a tree in my yard…someday when I have a sunny yard! Robin

  3. Knowing the daylily identities is more about curiosity than planning an order, Robin! Waiting to see what flourishes is fine with me.

    I think there are 4 developing lemons on my small potted tree right now so each one is cherished!

    Annie

  4. I used that lemon and made a large vodka tonic. 😉

    Speaking of crappy mail order nurseries, I can say from experience that the Michigan Bulb Co. sucks as well, and the bare-root plants I got from them resembled what you got from Spring Hill, and needless to say, didn’t grow.

    Anyway, I brought some bare-root daylilies from my mom’s garden back here, and I have enough to share. Want to try out a Midwestern “ditch lily?” From what I hear, they only bloom in TX if they get a lot of water, but if there’s a boggy spot in your yard, this might be just the plant. 🙂

    Lori, thanks for the “heads up” about Michigan Bulb. We should all be forewarned! I’m delighted to add another daylily to my collection! My whole bed is in a place that I water consistently, so perhaps it might work? I’ll email you…

  5. A late comment, but thanks for the info on Springhill. A friend’s daughter’s elementary school did a fund raiser, and the plants were cheap, so she bought some. They arrived looking like your daylily, but she planted them. I don’t know what happened to most of them (I think they didn’t make it), but the peony – it took about 3 years to get to blooming size, but it ended up gorgeous. At least one of her plants lived.

    As for mail order – I’ve had very good luck with Brent and Becky’s Bulbs, Bluestone Perennials and believe it or not, Dutch Gardens. Dutch Gardens is expensive, I think, but I bought clearance perennials in the spring – they arrived as potted plants, each in its own little box, and they have all thrived.

  6. Pingback: Best Laid Garden Plans; or Who are you kidding? « Getting Grounded

  7. Pingback: Garden Bloggers Bloom Day May 2009 « Getting Grounded

Let me know you dropped in!

