Lookie, no plastic!


Today was a joyous day. The worst of the dusty, grimy, messy, sloppy jobs are done. I was able to take down the plastic that covered everything and made life extremely challenging in the living room. The sheetrock is finished, and here’s the new wall.

I'm standing in the living room, admiring the wide open kitchen area I'll soon have. No more pass through window! And natural light can now reach the kitchen.

I'm standing in the living room, admiring the wide open kitchen area I'll soon have. No more pass through window! And natural light can now reach the kitchen.

Here’s what it looked like before this process started:

living-kitchen20090215_04351

The cabinets go in on Friday. I can’t wait for that day to come, because then I can load them up and get rid of the dozens of boxes crowding me out of the rest of my home. So far, so good!

6 thoughts on “Lookie, no plastic!

  1. Oh, Darla, I do, too! The light spilling into the kitchen now is surprising and wonderful. They are in there as I type this, installing the cabinets. Tomorrow paint. Then I’ll post again, and it will really give you a perspective on the new kitchen. I’m so excited I can’t stand it.

  2. What part of your home are you redoing, Brenda? The part that is frustrating is the dust everywhere! We finally, just today, finished the dusty messy stuff, and I have someone coming to help me clean on Sunday, so next week I’ll be a new woman. The fun part is, like today, when my brand-new, custom cabinets were installed, and they are gorgeous! My kitchen just got 30 years younger (I wish I could!). By the way, your photos today are outstanding. I love the animals, too. Thanks for checking in.

  3. So much nicer — can’t wait to see more. Thought of you in Michael’s the other day – they have a huge beachy display of “stuff!”

  4. Ooh, after all is done, I’ll have to check it out. However, right now I’m in spring cleaning mode and everything extra is getting tossed! How do I end up with so much stuff? I even make a conscious effort not to collect stuff, but I end up with it anyway.

Let me know you dropped in!

