New kitchen cabinets are in


I wish I had a beautiful flower picture to insert here, but I just don’t. As the light improves today outdoors, I’ll check things out and see if I can add something a bit more pleasing to the eye.

This however, is pleasing to my eye, and even more, my psyche. My new cabinets are installed!

The new pantry door is to the far left here. The ceiling height cabinets, lower drawers, corner lazy susan, and large pantry are doubling my functional storage.

The new pantry door is to the far left here. The ceiling height cabinets, lower drawers, corner lazy susan, and large pantry are doubling my functional storage.

I love the light spilling into the new kitchen by opening up this wall to the living room. I now have the “great room”  style of living space, which I adore. Though you can’t tell from this shot, I can also now see outside into the garden while standing at the sink.

I have to wait two weeks now for the granite countertops to be installed. Not much can happen before that point, other than paint the walls.

Now I have to wait two weeks for the granite countertops to be installed. Not much can happen before that time other than painting the walls.

With this wall opened up, people in the living room can talk to me while I’m in the kitchen, and I feel more connected to the rest of the space. This is such a dramatic change, I  feel like I’m standing in someone else’s home.

Standing in the living room, looking into the kitchen with the wall opened up. That short wall you see will have a granite cap on it soon, and the wall will be repainted.

Standing in the living room, looking into the kitchen with the wall opened up. That short wall will have a granite cap on it soon and the wall will be repainted.

Hardware goes on the cabinets on Monday, and the paint will soon dry inside the pantry so that I can begin to use it as well. Then I will be able to have all of the boxes stacked throughout the rest of the house put away. Now that I can find a few things, at least, we will be grilling tonight. Finally something other than a microwave meal!

5 thoughts on “New kitchen cabinets are in

  1. What a transformation, Robin. It looks just great — so open and modern and inviting — and spacious. I hope you’re seeing the light at the end of the tunnel.

  2. Here’s hoping that light at the end of the tunnel isn’t the train, right? Thanks for checking in, Diana. Yes, modern and inviting are definitely two of the changes I wanted.

  3. Pingback: Dreamy kitchen remodel « Getting Grounded

Let me know you dropped in!

