Garden Bloggers Bloom Day


Many Austin bloggers have mentioned that their gardens are mere shadows of their Springtime selves, given that March is their “bloomiest” month. In my garden, at least at this point in its young life, June is the bloomiest month. With extensive shade, young plants, and an inexperienced gardener, I have few blooms until the direct overhead sunshine of May begins. So my garden actually looks pretty good this month, given that everything is parched for a drink. I can only imagine what it might look like someday when we once again get consistent, plentiful rain like the olden days of my youth. (Sound like an old fogie, don’t I?).

My favorite thing in the garden right now is the combination of the Mexican Oregano and white Agapanthus.

MexOregano-Agapanthus_1979

It makes me smile every time I get into the car, as it is located right by the driveway. (My purple Agapanthus didn’t bloom this year, after five years of blooms. Why not?)

MexOregano-Agapanthus_1980

Another dramatic bloomer that just won’t stop blooming is the passalong rose, Citrus Splash. The blooms start with this appropriate splashy variegation of orange and yellow.

Robin_Mayfield_Citrus_Splash_4

By the next day, they have turned into an mostly-pink rose.

citrussplash1590

One of my favorite tough plants, the BiColor Iris, is in bloom in several locations in my yard. I love the sculptural quality of the evergreen grassy leaves even when not in bloom. But these fun blooms in May and June are icing on the cake.

BicolorIris3583

A few more of my daylilies have their last blooms. Some of these plants are called “rebloomers”. I’ll let you know if they bloom again in the fall.

Here’s Awash With Color:
AwashWithColor20090607_1965

Mango Mango, with its double bloom, is done for the season after this.

MangoMango_2003

One of my favorites, Beyond Riches, has one more bud left. I wish I had planted more of this one.

beyondriches_2019

In the same bed, the Rose of Sharon is completing its Spring bloom season. It will have a few more blooms again in early fall. In its second year, this deciduous shrub is one of my favorites. I want to plant another in a different color.

RoseOfSharon

I’m using a photo of the Rangoon Creeper (below) that was taken about 3 days ago. It now has many more blooms. I wanted you to see how the blooms start off white, then turn dark pinkish-red, so that the plant has blooms of different colors at the same time. I fell absolutely in love with this plant when I saw the huge one growing at Great Outdoors last year. Planted during Summer of Hell I, this is the first time it has bloomed.

RangoonCreeper20090607_1958

Because we actually had 1″+ of rain last week, amid tornadoes and hail, the rain lilies are making their first ever appearance in my garden. I love them!
These sweet pink blooms are nestled in the silver-leafed Powis Castle Artemesia, and I love the combination.

RainLilies20090607_1949

A new lantana is enjoying a spot out by the street in full sun.

Lantana3737

Back in the shade, the Indigofera is finishing up its bloom season. I really like the delicate bloom and leaves of this deciduous plant, but after it’s about 3 years old, it can become a thug. I completely removed it once (I thought), and this is it returning. I’ll let it go for now.

indigofera3730

Another shade plant, Clerodendrum Ugandense, or Butterfly Bush, has a few blooms. The plant has grown a lot in size, however, and hopefully next year it will bloom much more. I adore these blue blooms with the butterfly shape, in the shade no less.

ButterflyBush3750

Look at this. Last year, I planted a cheap budget-challenged Hosta from Home Depot (you know the rule: I never buy plants from there, except for when I do). It actually came back this year (without any winter water, or much Spring water, either, now that I think of it) and it is sprouting a bloom. The bulbs that I bought from a fancy-schmancy online Hosta nursery “guaranteed to grow even in our heat” never even sprouted. It’s a nice place filler while my natives grow.

hosta3733

Other plants in bloom today:
Several colors of Verbena
Impatiens
Bulbine
Zinnia
Purple Heart
Butterfly Iris
Several varieties of begonias
Several varieties of Geraniums
Petunias
Shrimp plant
Copper Canyon Daisy (yes, now)
Plumbago (just getting started)
Lantana of other colors
Society Garlic
Salvia Greggii (red)
Salvia Coccinea Coral Nymph
Salvia Coccinea Molly Ivans (struggling)
Salvia Majestica (not much)
Double Delight Rose (prolific)
Abutilon

As always, thanks to Carol, May Dreams Gardens for creating and hosting Garden Bloggers Bloom Day.

30 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers Bloom Day

  1. Happy Bloom Day! The Citrus Splash rose is incredible, I’ve never seen one before. I enjoyed the stroll through your garden. I garden in CT and it’s lovely to see flowers in your garden that would never survive here in mine.

  2. Debbie, Bloom Day is a wonderful way to see other parts of the country and its native plants, isn’t it? And you grow lovely things that I can’t grow here, either!

  3. That Citrus Splash rose is amazing! I don’t have roses, and I’ve not been willing to commit to caring for them in our challenging climate (humidity), but that one sure makes me reconsider. Your gardens are lovely – thanks for sharing.

  4. I’ve never had roses before either, because of the high maintenance. Citrus Splash is making a convert of me, at least for now. Thanks for visiting.

  5. I’m glad the passalong rose from the new-baby garden (or rather the previous owner’s garden) is doing so well for you, Robin. You’ve given it the perfect home that it needed.

    The HD hosta cracked me up. I often tell people that hostas don’t grow well in Austin. And yet. I have that exact same one, I’m pretty sure, coming up in my garden, another hold-over from the previous owners. Obviously it’s doing fine without any help from me.

  6. Pam, don’t you wish that Hostas would do well here? What a gorgeous shade plant when vigorous. Oh well, we’ll see what happens, right? Thanks again for the rose. Today it has over 7 blooms, with more buds coming!

  7. Your shady garden is so vibrant, Robin – love your flowers but as always am amazed at how much earlier they bloom in your S Austin garden compared to my NW patch. My blue clerodendron was about 3-feet tall last summer, died down to ground level, survived but is not ready to flower yet. And your white agapanthus are wonderful!

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose !

  8. i love that citrus splash!

    my garden seems to be blooming well too right now, although my established lantana bloomed early and now is not…but other things are doing just fine. we need rain though for sure…

    beautiful blossoms! happy gbbd!

  9. I’m happy your Rain Lilies bloomed so you could post a photo of them. I so admire them, but they aren’t hardy here. Agapanthus is another plant that is a pain to try to grow up North, so I love seeing photos of them. The white looks sublime with the pale pink of the Mexican Oregano.

  10. I’m happy the Rain Lilies are blooming, too, MMD. It means we had a spot of moisture from the skies. Happy Bloom Day!

  11. Isn’t Lantana funny? I never know when to expect blooms from mine anymore. Thanks for stopping by, and keep up the rain dancing.

  12. Annie, I guess it is no wonder that we are now officially in different growing zones, is it? To be less than 20 miles apart, and have such different garden climates is interesting. Just another way to Keep Austin Weird, right? Can’t wait to pop in and see your bloom day post and see what you have despite tornadoes and hail!

  13. Your Mexican oregano/white agapanthus combo is my favorite, too! So cool and crisp. And with all those pretty daylilies, no one would suspect how hellish our weather’s been. The Rangoon Creeper is really cool! It can handle some shade?

  14. Iris, the Rangoon Creeper actually prefers afternoon shade. It only gets 3 hours sun in my yard right now, and it appears to be doing well. It can be viney as it grows, so give it something to lean against. And of course, you would love the lavender Mexican Oregano!

  15. My Agapanthus have been finicky bloomers too. I don’t think they bloomed at all last year, or maybe they just sent up one sad little stalk. This year they changed color and are blooming beautifully. I love your Citrus Splash rose-those colors are amazing!

  16. So perhaps there is hope for my Agapanthus for next year, then. Most likely, it is the severe drought keeping them from blooming this year. Or they’re mad at me. Thanks for visiting.

  17. Have you ever propagated the Rose of Sharon? It’s super easy to grow from either cuttings or seed. I’ve grown them from cuttings for some time, but this year grown them from seed for the first time. If I harvest seed from my older plant (which is lilac colored) this year, I’ll save you some (if you’re interested in growing from seed).
    I’m further north, zone 8a, my garden is pretty much the same as yours, bloom-wise. My petunias are fried, and my geraniums aren’t looking too happy!

  18. Nola, I’ve never tried seedlings, but it sounds intriguing. Do I need a greenhouse for it? It could be fun to try. If you told me how to harvest the seeds, I would be happy to save some for you from my white one. Happy Bloom Day!

  19. Ok – I know the Citrus Splash was a passalong from Pam, but now I really have to have one. I have no idea where I would put it, but I am in love with those vibrant colors. That Clereodendrum is so adorable – so delicate and light. And your day lilies are really putting on quite a show for us, don’t you think? Happy GBBD!

  20. That Citrus Splash is nothing if not prolific. It is still covered in buds and blooms out there, and it’s just a wee thing. The Clereodendrum I found at It’s About Thyme, you know how I’m always on the lookout for interesting shade plants. I’m definitely pleased with how the daylilies did in their first year, and such a tough year at that. I think more varieties are now in order; these were my inexpensive test plants. Happy BGGD to you, too!

  21. You are right on track with me, Sweet Bay. I wish you could see Beyond Riches in person, it’s stunning with a bit of sparkly shimmer.

  22. Looks like your garden really is putting on its best show. That Citrus Splash rose is gorgeous. It is so nice to have so many blooms.

    Jan
    Always Growing

  23. Citrus Splash looks like a summer barbecue, all ketchup and mustard followed by some lovely ice cream or fruit for dessert! Love it!

  24. Oooh, Sylvana, what a great description! And you’re right, mustard and ketchup it is, until it turns into strawberry ice cream. I’ll never look at it the same again. Thanks for visiting.

  25. Oooh, you’ve got a lot going on. My front garden looks all right, but the back garden looks like it’s August and hasn’t been watered in months. It’s realllllly bad, like “everything wilted all the time” bad. I guess I shouldn’t have neglected it during the entire epic stump removal month. The beautyberry in particular looks like it’s at the lingering end of a hunger strike, despite me moving it and amending the soil around it last winter so it wouldn’t dry out so easily. Ugh. Is it too early in the summer to be giving up on the backyard?

    The Indigofera is really cool. I’ve never seen one before. Are the flowers any good for cutting?

  26. Lori, I’ll bet your back garden doesn’t look as bad as you perceive it! All those gorgeous flowers and plants; I do know you have a tough time with water back there, though. By the way, how IS the stump? Still wearing it’s Alien Mind Meld Repellant Gear? Not sure about cutting IndigoFera, I didn’t do it! Good idea, though.

Let me know you dropped in!

