Welcome home, Mom!


I recently took a lovely trip to North Carolina to visit a friend in Wake Forest. We started in Asheville, drove the scenic route along the Blue Ridge Highway, and ended up at her home. I’ll blog about that soon (oh my god that’s what plants are supposed to look like? Who knew?)

Flash the Wonder Cat always misses me when I vacation.

IMG_3533

The day after I arrived back home, he proudly presented me with this amazing gift (in his opinion, anyway). He’s never brought me a snake before, and this one is huge. The scale seems off in this photo, but it is over 2 feet long.

FlashiesSnake20090624_2069

Yowsa! Fortunately, when I found it, laid so beautifully as it was on the step off the deck where I always walk, it was in this non-threatening pose.

FlashiesDeadSnake20090624_2069

He must love me lots to have worked so hard to find a unique gift for me. And especially to share it and not keep it for himself. What a guy!

f317p

9 thoughts on “Welcome home, Mom!

  1. What a thoughtful gift. Do you know what kind of snake it is? I have never seen one like that. We got a bit of a break in the temperature today. Low 90s. Hope it trickles down to you. 107 is a little much.

  2. I really don’t know what kind of snake it is, Bluestem. I’m hoping a blogger will tell me. Perhaps a racer or small rat snake? Either way, The Flash was quite pleased with himself, and lay near while I admired my gift. Sigh.

  3. That is a Checkered Garter Snake. We have them around our Westcreek house and they are a lot more welcome that the copperheads and rattlers we have had in the past. We live on the Greenbelt and I think that is why we have so many snakes.

  4. Caroline, thanks for the info. I’m sorry that it was sacrificed, garter snakes are good things. By the way, I also live in Westcreek! Do you have a blog?

  5. Robin – Beautiful Gladiola — I had 6 come up but only 2 bloomed about 4-5 weeks ago. I thought it was too hot for them, but yours seems pretty happy. Sorry about the snake — they are perfectly harmless and it is a Checkered Garter Snake. Some rat snakes also have similar markings and they are also harmless. Welcome back to the heat!

  6. If only Flash the Wonder Cat was as harmless as the snakes! That Gladiolus was an oddity – just decided to come up and bloom that single bloom. I’m glad I got to see it, as nothing else in the garden is making me smile much these days.

  7. I found your blog through the Westcreek newspaper they mail out. I don’t have a blog I just read them.

Let me know you dropped in!

