Garden Bloggers Bloom Day Feb 2010


On yet another cold and blustery February day in Austin, Texas, I’m participating in the monthy Bloom Day hosted by Carol, May Dreams Gardens.

There were a few surprises as I strolled through the garden looking for any blooms. Mostly I found tips of bulb stalks peeking above the dirt, so the anticipation for the March bloom day is high. But I did find a couple of things for today.

First, this Marilyn’s Choice Abutilon has been in the ground for only a few months, and despite record low temperatures and consistenty lower than average temperatures at night, it has steadfastly held on to its gorgeous blooms. This species of Abutilon was found only a few short years ago at an old church site in Lafayette, Louisiana, and has quickly become a garden staple in Austin because of her hardiness and continual bloom cycle.

I apologize for the blurriness of the next several photos. The wind came in big-time with this current blue norther’, and the plants preferred dancing in the wind rather than holding still for their portraits.

The same Abutilon full size.

This tiny Hellebore in deep shade is only about 3 inches tall with maybe 6 leaves total; not much bigger than when I planted it. But it has 3-4 buds on it, ready to give me a show soon. This is my first ever Hellebore, so I’m excited to see what the bloom will look like. Found locally last year at Natural Gardener, I’m hoping they chose a hardy one for our climate changes.

Yesterday when I was pruning many of the perennials in my yard – we finally had a few hours of sunshine – I was surprised to see one of the many Loropetalums in the yard ready to burst into bloom. One of the buds is already open.

This ice plant was a passalong from a friend who found it abandoned at a rental home he moved into. It hasn’t stopped blooming since he gave it to me, and I love the blooms. Today, of course for Bloom Day, it chose to only have one bloom instead of the 5-6 it has been consistently having. (Sorry for the poor pic)

With all the freezing nights we’ve had this winter, my container Meyer Lemon has spent most of the past 2 months indoors. Despite that, I have buds, blooms, and even a lemon starting! The scent of the flowers is amazing.

Thanks for visiting on this cold winter’s day. Despite the colder temps, Austin is finally recouping some of the moisture we needed so badly after our 24 month exceptional drought. I’m crossing my fingers that spring is going to be lovely this year!

15 thoughts on “Garden Bloggers Bloom Day Feb 2010

  1. I love seeing gardens a few hours from mine, how different they are! You have many more blooms than I do further north. The ONLY blooms right now are my daffodils, which are almost finished blooming. Your tiny lemon is adorable! I’ve often thought of trying one, but can never quite convince myself because I know it would be one more large container to drag into the house or garage each winter. Your blooms are looking good and I do hope it’s the sign of a wonderful spring just around the corner!

  2. Well, Nola, we’ve had lots less of that frozen white stuff than you! I know what you mean about the container – I’m trying to have fewer of those myself.

  3. Good grief, I can’t believe the abutilon & lemon! That’s magnificent. And yes, I know what you mean about the wind; it’s been incredibly hard to get a shot. But your pictures are great! Happy Bloom Day! Linda

  4. Linda, I think I have you to thank for the Lemon production. When I bought it a year ago, it was absolutely covered in baby lemons; it was probably a 1-2 year plant in a 1 gallon bucket. I read your link from CTG about growing citrus, and it emphasized that preventing the plant from setting fruit the first year was vital for its long term fruit production. So I achingly chopped off every one of those pretty little green lemons, some already getting large. Even so, I’m amazed that it is doing this since it hasn’t been outdoors much in over 6 weeks!

  5. Those are amazing blooms especially the abutilon. Just gorgeous. I have one but it has no leaves and I think it croaked in the freeze. and your lemon too. This is the time of the year when we enjoy that wonderful night fragrance and I’ll bet you are enjoying it. Not a leaf on any of mine. Happy GBBD.

  6. Iris, I was surprised myself. Carol at May Dreams does a great service by making me really notice my garden at least once a month. I think March will be a great GBBD for Austin bloggers, though, don’t you?

  7. Pam, It was blooming when I purchased it at the BSN after Christmas sale, but what surprises me is that none of those blooms have fallen off in two months. I hope her hardy nature continues.

  8. Jenny, I have another Abutilon – different variety – that lost all its leaves but yesterday I trimmed it and there is green wood at the bottom so I have hopes for it. And I’m so glad I procrastinated about planting my lemon in the ground – right now I’m smelling that wonderful fragrance in the living room!

  9. Love that little Hellebore just waiting to open. Can’t wait to see your first bloom. I didn’t even look at my Loropetalums, I don’t think mine have any blooms. That Abutilon is lovely – wish I’d gotten that one instead of the one I did. Mine is dead stalks, not sure if it will come back. I’m sure you’re loving that natural lemon air freshener! Happy GBBD!

  10. Diana, the Abutilon that I got like yours is green at the base, so I think it will return (crossed fingers). But yes, Marilyn’s Choice is amazing. I have another tiny one planted in another location that is too small to bloom, but also retained its leaves. It’s obviously a hardy plant.

Let me know you dropped in!

