A just reward


I’ve had the roughest six weeks of my life so far, and it isn’t over yet. So far 2010 has not been kind. However, today the sun was finally shining and the cold north wind wasn’t blowing, so I spent some outside time, healing by playing in the dirt. And then rewarded myself with a treat that is almost a necessary treat.

A few weeks ago, I stumbled upon a sale at a local nursery of used pots and containers – they were 75% off just because they were dirty! I’d been wanting a large one for the sunniest location in my yard in which to plop my Meyer Lemon.

I’m leaving the Lemon tree in its own smaller container so it can be removed and protected indoors in the winter, so that container will be inside this larger one. I’ll add dirt around it and plant vines and other trailing plants to fill the larger pot.

Here it is now, in place. I’ll add to it in the spring.

So onto my reward.

I dropped by Costco yesterday, and they were just putting up a new lawn and garden display. This wonderful wagon was then being put into place, and they had several boxes stacked ready to sell.  Though I was tempted, I didn’t buy one in that moment because my car was loaded full.

I returned today to purchase one, and the only one left was the display model! Apparently everyone else also thought it was a great deal.

This baby is going to save my aching back as I stop carting things around in my two hands.

It’s well made, with strong tires and metal all around. The sides completely come off so that I can have a flatbed too, and it has a solid plastic liner that is removable.

Best of all, it dumps!

For the price of two visits to the chiropractor, this made me smile today to have gotten this to cart around plants, mulch, rocks, dirt, everything. Perhaps I’ll find some manly man to pull me around in it!

FYI: Costco south store is supposed to have a few more of these arriving in the next few days, so if you want one, act fast!

19 thoughts on “A just reward

  1. In the side yard, by the air conditioner, the gas meter, the electric meter, the piles of dirt, the extra old picnic table, the unused pots…need I say more?

  2. I didn’t realize you’d been going through such a rough patch, Robin. I hope things are turning a corner for you, and I think that cart is a great reward for slogging through.

  3. Pam, I finally got a piece of good news yesterday that indicates there’s a light at the end of the tunnel that isn’t a train. Health issues all around seem to be improving. And my cart will always feel good – my reward for hanging in there!

  4. Wow, lucky you! Wish I could stumble onto such buys. By the way, where did you get your stock tank? I like the fact that it’s ribbed. Laur

  5. Laura, that great stock tank was on my dad’s farm and was one that my horse used to drink from. Much sentimental value. Thanks for visiting.

  6. Love the wagon! AND I love the idea of the huge pot with the smaller potted M lemon inside! That pot is HUGE, I’d love some big ones like that to dot around my yard and add some more color and interest.
    Chiropractors must live off of gardeners! I know that’s the price I pay for too much work outdoors, but I pay it gladly!

  7. Nola, I’m trying to go with almost all big containers anymore. I just can’t keep up with the daily watering of smaller ones in the hot summer months. Hopefully this one will do the trick for some veggies in the sun, too.

  8. Robin, I’m very sorry that you’ve had such a rough time with your health. I do hope you will feel better very soon. If you need anything please give me a call or e-mail. Hopefully your wagon will help a whole lot with your gardening. It certainly looks like a terrific choice! 🙂

  9. Dawn, thanks for visiting and the kind words. And it was more than just my own health, my kitty suddenly had severe health problems and I almost lost him. We are all still recovering, hopefully. Give us another month and we’ll see!

  10. Oh dear! I didn’t realize your kitty was ill too. I am sorry, Robin. I hope he’ll be okay. We love our pets so much; it’s hard to see them hurting. Please keep us posted about your little cat. I’ll have my fingers crossed for good luck. Will send catnip too if you think it might help.

    Best Wishes,
    Dawn

Let me know you dropped in!

