Snow in spring


I’ve long ago stopped believing in weather forecasters, just like Santa Claus and the Tooth Fairy. A form of nightly entertainment, foretelling the weather in Central Texas must be harder than hitting .300 in baseball – most of the time you strike out. So I didn’t really believe we’d get 1″-2″ of snow…I thought we might perhaps get a few snow pellets. I shoulda believed ’em this time!

I love the purple hyacinth in the snow, and as I look around, we ARE getting almost 2″ of snow!

With really big fat flakes, too!

My deck is covered with snow and very slick to walk on.

And the agave seems to be hanging on to it just for the fun of it, like the rest of us.

In the past 6 months in Central Texas, we’ve had record setting high temperatures, record setting extended drought, 8″ of rain overnight to break the 25 month drought, record setting freezing temperatures, and now record setting snow! What’s next? I’m afraid to wonder…whatever plants we have left in our gardens should win awards, don’t you think?

14 thoughts on “Snow in spring

  1. Love the photos – especially the fountain and the agave! Isn’t this just crazy. Your yard looks so different with the tank in the front and snow instead of crushed gravel and hot sun!

  2. Love the hyacinth in snow, Robin – this is very picturesque weather, isn’t it?
    Snow, heat, drought, freeze…you left out the most expensive weather event of the last year… the March Hail!

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  3. Hi Brenda, long time! I’m looking forward to a gardening post from you, though I’ve kept up with you via your decorating blog. We can cross our fingers that this is the last of it, but I don’t think so, do you?

  4. The hyacinth is beautiful and somehow it is fitting to see it surrounded by snow. That was how I saw hyacinths in england when I was young. I thought it was fun to have the snow. It showed off our garden sin a new light.

  5. Jenny, It’s a sight I’ve never seen before, and I love the bright purple bloom in the white snow. I’m glad it brought back a childhood memory for you!

  6. I love the hyacinth, too! I agree — anything that can survive snow, sleet, exceptional drought, and temperatures ranging between 17° and 107° F are indeed “proven winners”! So far for me that includes hymenoxys (still blooming!!!), the agave that is not a Whale’s Tongue, Mexican feather grass, rosemary, Texas Gold columbine, damianita, sedums, salvia greggi, buddleja and the antique roses.

  7. Caroline, after your comments as well as others, Hymenoxys is on my must-have list, as is Mex. Feathergrass. You just also made me realize that my Columbine is alive and well; perhaps in a couple of months we’ll have those gorgeous blooms to enjoy?
    Our own Proven Winners list – I like it!

  8. I’d be a nervous wreck, seeing snow and ice on my agaves! Yes, this has been a learning year for Texas gardeners. I’m eager to see what makes it after the drought, the wind, and now record cold and snow! Whatever made is through this year, I am planting LOTS of it, all over!

  9. Agreed, Nola! We’ll definitely know what is hardy for our areas, won’t we? I didn’t worry about snow on the Agave because the non-hardy ones had already been frozen from our record setting freeze a month ago. What a year!

Let me know you dropped in!

