Spring is in the Air


Despite a crazy weather year with records set on every front– high and low, dry and wet — my garden is valiantly springing back to life.  Homestead Purple Verbena has never looked so vibrant.

Some bulbs returned from last year, and I planted many new ones last fall. It’s a bulb-fest!

I adore the newly-tried combo of the daffodils against the springtime-new burgundy leaves of the Laropetalum (Chinese Fringe Flower) below:

Another combo I’m really enjoying is the Homestead Purple Verbena with Powis Castle Artemesia: (in the foreground of the photo, you’ll see a native Moss Verbena snuck in the picture, too)

Amethyst Flame Iris, a steadfast passalong from Digging, got a drink of rainwater:

I miss childhood images of lush southern gardens from my hometown in North Texas, so last month I used a stock tank to create my version of it. I filled the large container with acidified soil for some Encore Azaleas and other acid-loving plants to be added later. I planted two, and the second isn’t fully blooming yet. I hope to create a corner of lushness in my otherwise mostly-native drought resistant garden.

While many of my perennials are still playing the “Dead or Dormant” game, it’s good to see that bulbs and tough natives are as hardy as ever.

Come visit me again soon; I have some images of mystery volunteer plants that I need help with IDs! I’ll post it in a few days.

19 thoughts on “Spring is in the Air

  1. It is a bloom fest in your garden and they are all beautiful. Love the Daffs against the Loropetalum, too. Your azalea is stunning. I hope that works great for you and takes you down memory lane.

  2. Diana, it was your encouragement to plant what I love that helped me decide to create that. It may prove to be an expensive annual, but right now I’m enjoying it.

  3. Love the daffodils with the loropetalum! (I have a similar effect for the moment with yellow broccoli flowers next to loropetalum.) The iris is stunning (such a surprise that I’d say that), and I’m a big fan of verbena, both moss and homestead: yours looks very pretty. Good luck with the azaleas. I had a big potted blooming Encore azalea on the front porch a few years ago and someone stole it in the middle of the night–it must have weighed 50 pounds! Oh well–it was really pretty like yours, so I’m going to assume it made someone else happy.

  4. Beautiful springfest, Robin- Amethyst Flame is blooming here, too!

    When the grape hyacinth began blooming they looked so puny you were ready to dig them up… bet you’ve changed your mind now that they are playing their best role, as companions to other bulbs ;-]

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  5. Wow, Iris, I know people tend to think that potted plants are their’s for the taking (not), but to get such a heavy one! Sorry to hear that. That’s one reason I partially buried my stock tank the front yard, to discourage light hands. Thanks for visiting – yes, my yard filled with purple is right up your alley right now, isn’t it?

  6. You’re right, Annie. I thought they were already done two weeks ago. I didn’t realize the bloom would last so long and continue to increase in height. They are cute now! I also didn’t realize they were best mixed in with other bulbs…it’s all a learning process for me. Thanks for the encouragement.

  7. The Amethyst Flame irises are blooming in my new garden too, Robin, and I’m glad they’re brightening your spring border. I think it’s a great idea to plant a “north Texas garden” in a stock tank, where you can control the soil type and give it the extra water it needs. Azaleas are nostalgic plants for me too, having grown up in S.C.

  8. Pam, I figured I’d be watering whatever I planted in that stock tank anyway, so why not put some azaleas in there? Thanks again for the Iris passalong, I love them.

  9. The Daffodils & Laropetalum do make for a dramatic combo – quite nice. And an Azalea stock tank – gonna have to ponder on that idea.

  10. Thanks for stopping by…I have another stock tank in the newly created front yard sun bed that I love as well. Great for creating wonderful soil for some persnickety plants.

  11. I love your Abutilon. I have one, too, but mine doesn’t look as happy. I have mine in a garden bed that doesn’t get direct sun. It’s also the coldest part of my yard. My Abutilon looked great last year, but it definitely didn’t bloom through the frost. While it has some leaves, it hasn’t picked up steam like yours. Is yours in full sun?

  12. Claire, in Austin the Abutilons prefer morning sun/afternoon shade. That one is a new purchase in December, and already had blooms. It has just continued without stopping, which is great. I just bought 3 more varieties because I like it so much!

  13. Oooh, that bulbfest picture is spectacular! It reminds me of my spring garden in Wisconsin. You’ve gotta have a great view from your living room right now!

  14. Love the look of the blooms against the loropetalum. Your encore azaleas are looking fantastic; I love to see blooms where the “experts” say they won’t grow. Keep updating us on their performance!

  15. Nola, it’s always easy to get those first blooms when the plant is fresh from the nursery; it’s the second and third rounds that will show the truth, right? I’ll definitely let you know if my southern container garden works!

  16. Pingback: Spring is in the Air (via Getting Grounded) « BNA MEMBERS FORUM

Let me know you dropped in!

