My own Bloom Day!



This morning I stepped outside a bit earlier than usual and was surprised to find these rain lilies blooming in the Powis Castle Artemesia (above). I wish it meant that rain is headed our way, but no such luck. By the time I walked through the garden taking pictures, I was drenched with sweat and it wasn’t yet 8 a.m.

I’m delighted that the newly-planted-this-spring Pink Abutilon is blooming with many more buds on the way. I was told by the great folks at Barton Springs Nursery that she is just as cold-hardy as Marilyn’s Choice Abutilon, who made it through our record setting low temperatures last winter. I hope that’s true, because I’m in love with this sweet flowering semi-evergreen.

This Gerber Daisy above in hot pink is a color created for the Susan Komen Breast Cancer Research Foundation. The color intensity has that incredible Gerber Daisy crayon-like look, but most likely it will be short-lived in our current heat.

More varieties of daylilies are blooming, though I’ve unfortunately lost the species name for this one above.

Princess Ellen (above) has larger flowers this year, her second year in my garden.

Mango Mango is blooming among the native Moss Verbena above. I love Mother Nature’s design talents, I didn’t plan this one. I actually thought I had moved all of the Mango Mango plants to another bed. Apparently I missed this one, and I’m glad I did.

Though I’ve been letting them go for a week in between waterings, apparently I’m overwatering my succulents. Look at this mushroom that appeared overnight! It is quite pretty, isn’t it?  Though you can imagine my surprise to see it this morning, I just don’t think it’s a good sign that water-loving mushrooms are growing in my dry-loving succulent planter.

This newly-purchased Shrimp Plant was too cute to resist at the nursery. And I HAD to go to the nursery; I was picking up a plant for a friend. So it’s not my fault, really. Right?

10 thoughts on “My own Bloom Day!

  1. Love that mushroom! And sometimes they pop up with just a little extra moisture in the soil, especially if there’s high humidity and a little decaying organic matter to feed on. These type of toadstools normally don’t bode too ill. Now a fungus growing as a mat ON your soil would be something to worry about! Glad you were able to snap a pic and share this pretty little saprophyte with us.

  2. Love all the daylilies in the last two posts, Robin – but can’t choose a favorite – and how dare those squirrels dig up your Spider Daylilies!

    As to the fluorescent Gerber Daisy, I’d give them the money and let them keep the plant. The Abutilon, on the other hand, is the kind of tender pink that makes me croon – hope it’s tough enough for Austin!

    Annie at the Transplantable Rose

  3. Annie, that hot pink gerber was an impulse purchase when they were clearanced out for $3! I know what you mean, but it is a youthful, happy plant that brightens up a shady spot for me. I prefer the tender pink of Abutilon also. And I have to say, since the heat started, she has flourished! Just now started growing and blooming, so I hope that’s a good sign.

  4. What great plants! I love the pink rain lilies against the artemisia. Will have to “steal that idea.” And oh, that pink abutilon and pink gerber. And those daylilies. It’s all just beautiful. By the way, Mae from Barton Springs is recording CTG on Thursday to give us the scoop on how to care for abutilons. Will keep you posted and especially, I’m going to ask her about that pink. Could I use your picture for CTG? With a credit, of course!

  5. ooh, of course you can use my pic, Linda! Thanks for asking. Be sure to ask her if they really think it is as hardy, because it is certainly gorgeous and really starting to bloom now. I have lots of pink going on right now, don’t I? Seems like my garden is in stages, all purples for a while, all pinks, then all oranges.

  6. The Mango Mango looks fantastic surrounded by the verbena! Those colors just seems to glow. All of your blooms are so pretty; hope you get enough rain to keep them blooming.

Let me know you dropped in!

