Texas Bluebells


At the most recent native plant sale at the Ladybird Johnson Wildflower Center, I had only one plant “must have” on my list. And then when it turned out that I couldn’t attend the sale, Diana, Sharing Nature’s Garden, nicely picked up 3 native Texas Bluebells so my list would be satisfied.  When they first began to grow this spring, I didn’t think I would like the gangly blue-green foliage. But who cares when the flowers look like this!

Native Wildflower Eustoma grandiflorum; Texas Bluebells

I found this great info on Texas Gardener Online about this wildflower:

“Bluebells can be found growing over most of Texas (except the most arid areas). It likes fertile, prairie-type soil (you will not often find it growing in deep sand) and needs at least a moderate amount of moisture. It can tolerate wet conditions, but not standing water. This one is a great choice for coastal areas where drainage is less than perfect. It will be found growing on rolling hills, on the slopes and around the bottoms of the slopes.

Bluebell is an upright, clumping-type plant, usually reaching a height of around 1 to 2 feet — occasionally slightly taller. The native variety, Eustomia exaltalum, is a short-lived perennial lasting 3 to 7 years while the Japanese varities (Lisianthes) are annual. It will often form extensive colonies — never forming a continuous, tight sod — with space (usually about a foot) between the individual plants. The foliage is pale green (or sometimes almost a blue-green) and is not palatable to grazing animals.”

Robin’s Note: I have not given these plants any more water than anything else in that bed, so they haven’t been pampered. Perhaps if we were still in our horrible exceptional drought conditions of the last two years, they wouldn’t look so good.

And remember the dead Bottlebrush Tree? It lives again – as a trellis for my Hyacinth Bean Vine. Or rather, the 4 Hyacinth Bean Vines, and 2 Moonflower vines that haven’t started growing yet. Adhering to my motto as a good Texas gal “If anything can be done, then it can be easily overdone”, I think I might need to pull 1 or 2 of those vines out of there to give it breathing and blooming room. What do you think?

Texas Bluebells in the foreground, Senorita Rosalita Cleome on the left, and way too many Hyacinth Bean Vines in the background.

21 thoughts on “Texas Bluebells

  1. Oh how I love Texas Bluebells! Yours are stunning. I only have the Japanese variety but look forward to getting the native variety someday. I thought the same thing you did at first about the foliage, but its color is nice and the blooms are the real show. Love the combo in the last photo.

  2. It’s so funny, Iris, when I did this post I knew you would love it! That purple is right up your alley, isn’t it? I don’t even notice the rangy foliage now!

  3. Beautiful photos of the bluebells. I have some gorgeous flowers growing on thewest side of our barn alongside our wild raspberries and I think they must be a north eastern variety of bluebells. So pretty. Thanks for a lovely blog and post.

    ~firefly

  4. Hey Robin!

    What was the shade plant that you gave out at the get together? the one that was essentially planting the leaves in the ground.

  5. Katina, that’s a Night blooming cereus. It’s a succulent that loves the shade. Google it and you’ll find lots of info about it, but basically let it dry out between waterings, just like a succulent. It can get big and gangly, but easy to trim back.

  6. Those bluebells are so gorgeous they just don’t look Texas at all, do they? More like a woodland plant.I’m not sure they would like my soil here. Maybe in the English garden they would look OK. I love what you did with your Bottlebrush. Shortly after we came to Texas, and were living in Gonzales, I saw this incredible flowering tree. I stopped to ask the owner what it was. It was wisteria growing up into a big dead tree. Wonderful.

  7. Now you’ve given me ideas, Jenny. I’m not loving the hyacinth bean vine, but I certainly DO love wisteria. Perhaps I’ll plant one there! LOVED visiting your beautiful garden last weekend, and the food – beyond amazing fresh from the garden and lovingly prepared. Thanks for stopping by!

  8. The blubells are gorgeous. I didn’t get one and now I’m sorry I didn’t! Who knew? Not me. Your new header is so pretty, too — fresh and vibrant and I love those plants. Personally, I like the hyacinth bean vine and think it’s fine as long as it isn’t stressed from the overcrowding, I’d leave it. Have you seen blooms yet?

  9. Hyacinth bean is starting to bloom and have pods, also. I just wonder if I’ve crowded it so much that it might not bloom as well as it could. I’ll see if I can capture some seeds from the bluebells – I didn’t know they would be so awesome either. I thought it would be a smaller, less vibrant bloom, more cute than anything. I’m very happy with it!

  10. I’ll let you know how the fight goes! Those bluebells are continuing to bloom like crazy, Linda. I’m glad I got them.

  11. These are from small plantings, but they did seed out and I am hoping that they will return from seed this year. Stunning, aren’t they?

  12. hi = thanks for your comment.
    ok – about the styling – in the US when someone is going to put their house in a magazine, they usuall go through this manic refreshing, painting, new linens, new accessories, etc. everything is so pristine and new looking. the magazine will sent in a stylist with $1,000s worth of accessories and furniture, stools, chairs, etc. they just don’t do that in europe. yes, they will put out a teapot – but its a teapot that owners owned. compare those houses in the magazine to those in architectural digest. they are just styled so differently. anyway – some people like the less approach to styling, some like the more approach. i think i like both – at different times. hope i am not being too confusing????

    thanks so much for commenting.
    J

  13. Joni, see, you’re right, I don’t know what a styled room is! LOL, I had no idea that they would completely redecorate the room for the owner. Now I understand what you meant, and thank you for clarifying.

  14. We have these growing along side the turnpike in Oklahoma center of the state. Where can people order the seeds?

Let me know you dropped in!

