Dreamy kitchen remodel


I dream of the beach frequently. Whether in daydreams or night dreams, I am often thinking of those turquoise waves in the Caribbean. So when I got the opportunity to remodel my kitchen following a water faucet breakdown, the beach and sea were the obvious choices for inspiration in my new kitchen.

I’ve previously posted the “before” pictures here, and showed you the horrible tile floor being removed. Once the new cabinets were in place, I could finally clean the house up a bit and empty out boxes that were taking up room everywhere. Another month has passed, and I am down to tiny touchups left. It’s finally time for the “after” photos!

To give you the maximum shock value, I’ll post the “before” pictures again, along with a shot from a similar angle of the new kitchen. I wonder if you’ll be as shocked as I am when you see it?

The old kitchen, with the horrible tile floor, ancient cabinets, stained formica and rotting out fixtures

The old kitchen, with the horrible tile floor, ancient cabinets, stained formica and rotting out fixtures

What can I say? Can you believe this is the same place?

What can I say? Can you believe this is the same place?

The broken Saltillo tiles with inch-wide grout are gone (some made it into the garden path), replaced by a Teak hardwood floor (you know, Teak, like they use on sailboats). The stained formica that ran up the wall to also become the backsplash has been replaced by glass subway tiles in the colors of my beloved Caribbean Sea and Granite countertops that remind me of sand dunes. While the refrigerator is in the identical place in the room as it was previously, it now has a context by being contained by a new walk-in pantry on one side, and overhead cabinets above. The sink and dishwasher traded places, to give me a long working countertop space. And while I lost a bank of upper cabinets by taking out the wall separating the kitchen from the living room, I gained it back with the tall upper cabinets, lower drawers, and oversized pantry. I’m not missing that bank of cabinets at all, believe me!

The old view of the kitchen, looking at it while standing in the living room. The old seventies style pass-thru window definitely aged the house.

The old view of the kitchen, looking at it while standing in the living room. The old seventies style pass-thru window definitely aged the house.

Instant modernization happened when I created a "great room" concept by opening up that wall.

Instant modernization happened when I created a "great room" concept by opening up that wall.

I haven’t yet found the right piece of art for the wall in the dining area to the left, but I have some ideas brewing. If you can imagine it, when I bought this home 9 years ago, there was a 7′ ceiling in the dining and kitchen area, with drop down fluorescent lighting. The pony wall to the left was topped with those twirly-wood posts that ran from the top of the half-wall to the 7′ ceiling. It was a cave! I wish I had pictures to compare to, but I couldn’t bring myself to take a picture of it back then.

I never liked eating at the table, because it felt so claustrophobic to me.

I never liked eating at the table, because it felt so claustrophobic to me.

It doesn't feel claustrophobic now! And yes, that's the same light fixture. I painted it turquoise (of course) and gave it a new life.

It doesn't feel claustrophobic now! And yes, that's the same light fixture. I painted it turquoise (of course) and gave it a new life.

I love the wood floors and the feel that it adds to a space. By using all natural products, the kitchen and dining room has an energy that it lacked previously. While it’s not my usual style to stick with off-white walls, I like how it opened up the space this time. I hope to get new dining chairs that are less busy, but all things in due time, right?

20090328_corner-tile-granite1435

I’ve been wanting a Margaritaville machine that shaves ice, not only for the requisite Margaritas, but for smoothies as well. I found a display model on sale for half price, and I snatched it up. It’s now in a place of honor on top of that gorgeous exotic granite.

20090328_sink-view1422

Now while standing at the sink, I can look directly out into the garden and deck. Okay, and yes, I can watch TV, too.

20090328_dinging2-14241
It feels like the beach, doesn’t it?

20090328_corner-tile-1419

I wonder how long I can keep it looking so new and shiny?

20090328_kitchen-night-1429

And the under-cabinet lighting makes it look pretty at night as well.

20090328_buttercup1439

And my first ever Ranunculus bloom from my garden!

21 thoughts on “Dreamy kitchen remodel

  1. That backsplash is a work of art! You did a great job with the entire remodel. Best of all, you can now see out to the garden. One thing I would NOT change though, I LOVE your dining chairs, I couldn’t bear to change them, maybe just some new cushions.

  2. I love the backsplash, too, Nola. That was my “bling” for the kitchen. Maybe I’m just tired of the chairs? I’ve been told that the casters aren’t good for the wood floors, though. Hmmm, they’ll be for sale soon…just in case you’re interested 🙂

  3. It truly is the difference of night and day. The first thing that immediately caught my eye were those gorgeous shining floors. That in itself is a work of art. And the back splash! Love that too. I wish I could look out my kitchen to the garden. But thank goodness at least now I can look from the dining room right off of it. So happy you got your magnificent kitchen! Enjoy a margarita for me!
    Brenda

  4. Cheers, Brenda! Yes, I love looking outdoors a lot when I’m in there. And I agree that the wood floors are a work of art. I wanted to post a picture of just the wood, but it didn’t come out right. The granite is also one of God’s artworks – more Jackson Pollack, I think. They come tomorrow to replace the boards that the installers scratched when they moved the stove…can you believe that? They had just finished, like five minutes before, installing the floor and moved the stove themselves and scratched it! I don’t really understand that, but at least they are going to repair it. Then, hopefully, I’ll be done…

  5. Hey, Girl! Wow!!!! You are definitely the artist! Congratulations on all your hard work. I LOVE the backsplash, the floors and the granite. And, I like your idea of painting the dining room light fixture turquoise!!! It’s those small touches that make the difference. Love ya!

  6. Thanks, Angela! And welcome to the world of blogging. Glad you came to visit and chat with us. Can’t wait for you to come visit and see it in person…

  7. Wow! Great job on the kitchen remodel. You have completely changed the look and feel of the space without changing the basic configuration of the kitchen. How creative. I love your choice of materials and colors & your photos are also excellent.

  8. What a beautiful new kitchen. The before and after photos are amazing! I love your backsplash and the sink/faucet. Gorgeous!

    BTW, I just talked with your “go to guy” on the phone and will hopefully meet him soon about my mirror project. Thanks again for the recommendation. 🙂

  9. Wow, Robin. You did an amazing job, and it so reflects who you are! Turks and Caicos – all within your home. Congrats!

  10. I love the blue & green back splash it is very original and unique and totally stands out against the counter top and the white cabinets. Very tasteful renovation and great work 🙂

  11. hi, i came across your kitchen remodel because we are looking to remodel our ally kitchen, and I love yours! Would you mind giving me an estimate of how much it cost? It is beautiful! Thanks, Lua

  12. Pingback: One of these things doesn’t belong « Getting Grounded

  13. My Mum would go nuts if she’d see your tops. Ours was like really crappy. We’re having our kitchen remodel too. Thanks to my sister Kate. The inspiration is Asian Mediterranean. You can guess how wild the sitch is in our kitchen now.

Let me know you dropped in!